Darren Bravo in, Shai hopes out

St. John’s: Left-handed batsmen Darren Bravo and Shimron Hetmyer and all-rounder Keemo Paul are back in the West Indies Test squad for a two-match series in New Zealand, but Shai Hope has been turned down.

Bravo’s highest Test score of 218 came in 2013 in Dunedin, New Zealand.

Hope, a veteran of 34 Tests, has had a poor run in Test cricket recently. He has averaged 19.48 since December 2017 and just 14.45 since February 2019, lowering his career test average to 26.27.

A group of six reserves will also travel to New Zealand to prepare the test squad during a quarantine period and training camp, as well as to provide cover for injuries.

Also read:  Kohli and boys enjoy pool volleyball, karaoke night

Wicketkeeper Andre Fletcher was in the Twenty20 squad for the first time since 2018 for a three-match series in New Zealand next month before the Tests.

Allrounder Kyle Mayers has also been included for the first time after playing in the recent Caribbean Premier League.

All-rounder Andre Russell and top batsmen Lendl Simmons and Evin Lewis chose not to tour due to travel concerns and quarantines related to the pandemic.

The T20 series kicks off on November 27 in Auckland, followed by matches in Mount Maunganui on November 29 and 30. The tests are scheduled for December 3-7 at Seddon Park in Hamilton and from December 11 to 15 around the Basin Reserve in Wellington.

Also read:  UFC makes a triumphant return this weekend

West Indies: Test squad: Jason Holder (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Chemar Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul , Kemar Roach. Reserves: Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua DaSilva, Preston McSween, Shayne Moseley, Raymon Reifer, Jayden Seales.

T20 Group: Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kesrick Williams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *